Topic: Bands and formations setup

Tagged: 

• Author
    Participant

Hi,

I’m very new to the game. So far I’ve started two beginner ironman bands, first ended in obligatory orc wipe, second is going nice and strong. The game is great and very addictive; which actually might not be a such good thing :D

But enough small talk. I’d like to know how you setup you troops, what roles you assign them, how do you setup your starting formations and maybe some basic tactical tips.

So far I’ve been using six shielded spearmen and second line of six archer/polearm hybrids. I’m looking to slowly transfer this band into

S S S S S S
    G O A A O G

S – shields and axes
    G – greatswords
    O – sergeants with billhooks
    A – bow/billhooks hybrids

Maybe even this formation

S G S S G S
    S O A A O S

but I’m too afraid of enemy archers to not a have a complete shield wall :D

What do you think? I’m not really sold on two-handed weapons, but they seem great on paper :)

(sry about my english)

oldschool rpg blog (in czech language)
    http://2k6goblinu.blogspot.cz/

Participant

I have some game experience ) and I must mention that the game is good that with adequate selection of backgrounds and skills of mercenaries you can succeed in almost any set of men. Moreover, with the extension to the group of 18 people we have the opportunity to do special fighters for certain enemies and goals. Developers can only be praise: if a player “knows” that he can achieve success as with 10 soldiers with shields and 10 people with a two-handed swords