Topic: Feedback from a complete newbie

• Author
    Participant

Hi all,

As someone who has been exposed to Battle Brothers only since last week, I thought my perspective might be of value to someone. If not, feel free to ignore. I’ll try to break this up into sections, and keep it short.

Gameplay

I’m not normally a fan of the standard ‘turn-based’ fare that Battle Brothers falls into. I’m talking about the use of action points, and zones of control, and costs for movement and basic abilities as well as for special abilities. Too often, these boil down to ‘line up your guys against their guys, and beat on each other until one or the other falls down.’ This goes double for systems that give persistent penalties for being hit or hurt. I much prefer the XCOM-like (Long War) system where tactical mobility is a key factor, you strive to control the battlefield and the enemy, and if the enemy is directing effective fire onto your guys you’ve done something wrong. It feels to me like it better rewards tactical awareness and initiative.

That said, Battle Brothers manages to pull off the more traditional approach to turn-based strategy in an enjoyable fashion, to my pleasant surprise. I think the key factors that allow this are the encirclement penalties, reach weapons, the liberal allowance with abilities that exert control over the zones of control (whether spearwall or shove or others), and the simple fact that many abilities are tied to weapon choice, instead of character build. I find Battle Brothers to be quite playable and quite enjoyable until at least the mid-game where nobles start sending you against orcs. (I got my butt handed to me, despite doing well in the early game, due to some short-term decision making.)

So good on you guys. I like this game.

A couple specific points follow.