Topic: Some conceptual ideas

• Author
    Participant

I have so far played only a little over 60 hours, but I have some general experience with turn-based hex strategies (~5000 hours in Panzer Corps) and I have a couple of content ideas:

1) Trader Alternative
    Since trade is already a significant part of keeping your finances in the black, I would like to have the option to go primarily business: Rent a wagon(s) (And steeds. Which I have to feed.) and run my own caravan by making wholesale contracts with local producers. (“Come to Holzschlag in 5 days with a wagon and buy 50 units of wood for 5000 crowns/wagon. If you can safely bring it over the mountains to a port, merchant ships will buy it for 9000.”)

Similarly, I should have a broader choice to go full rogue and make my living through robbing, pillaging and shaking down villages – at the full risk of being hunted down by a noble’s army or a coalition of local town militias.

As a tangent, the game is missing mills – these were a huge part of the medieval economy, often rich, sometimes fortified, centers for grain processing and sale and a major source of revenue for whoever controlled them. Quarries and lumber camps were also a thing – these could operate as somewhat different towns – mainly about raw materials to purchase but also in need of food supply and occasionally offering rugged men to hire.

2) Ability to rise
    As one kind of a goal in what is currently a sandbox experience, I would like to have a shot at becoming a knight – as a favor bestowed by a noble house in exchange for loyalty and/or extraordinary services.